Georgia Board of Professional Engineers
and Land Surveyors
Registrants of the Board must renew their licenses every two years. The Board renews Professional Engineer and Land Surveyor licenses, as well as firms. Firms include companies, corporations, professional corporations, partnerships, associations, limited liability corporations, and other entities. Licenses may be in active, inactive, lapsed or revoked status. Individual registrants in inactive status cannot hold themselves out to the public as a registrant of the Board or practice professional engineering or land surveying. The same is true for those in lapsed status. Those in inactive or lapsed status can reinstate their licenses to active status.
All registrant licenses expire on December 31 of even-numbered years. Renewal forms are mailed from the Board office in mid November. To renew without penalty, registrants should return their renewal forms and fees to the post office box indicated on the form by December 31. Renewals postmarked subsequent to December 31 will require a $50.00 renewal fee plus a penalty of $300.00 for the next four years of delinquency. Alternatively, you may renew online by clicking here. Licenses that have expired for more than four (4) years are automatically revoked per OCGA 43-15-17(b). Misplaced or lost renewal forms may be obtained from the board office or may be downloaded here.
With each renewal form is included a report for continuing education professional development hours (PDH) to be completed by the registrant. Registrants are responsible for their own renewal forms; and they should not rely on their firms, spouses, or employees. The Board audits renewals annually for accuracy and compliance with the rules.
All firm certificates of authorization expire on June 30 of even-numbered years. Renewal forms are mailed from the Board office in May. Firms should return their renewal of certificate of authorization forms to the Board office by June 30 to avoid lapsing their certificate. At the current time no fees or penalties are assessed for firm registration. Misplaced or lost renewal forms may be obtained from the Board.
The Board may reissue a certificate of registration to any person whose certificate has been revoked, or may terminate any suspension imposed by it upon the affirmative vote of a majority of the members of the Board and upon the payment of a fee prescribed by the board.
An individual whose license has lapsed for more than four (4)years may reapply for licensure in Georgia under the following provisions: