Actions Taken by the Georgia Board of Massage Therapy at its April 3 Meeting
Macon, Ga.—The Georgia Board of Massage Therapy met on Friday, April 3, 2009.
The Board voted to approve the following applicants for licensure:
- Sabrina D. Cranor, McDonough
- Anna K. Junkins, North Ellijay
- Amy L. McKenney, Savannah
- Robert Stergas, Syracuse, NY
- Elisabeth K. Stevenson, Commerce
- Mary K. White, Marietta
The Board voted to approve the following applicant for licensure by endorsement:
- Gerald Grekowicz, Rising Fawn
The Board voted to approve the following applicants for licensure by reinstatement:
- Devorah Bassett, Locust Grove
- Michelle McCullough, Madison
The Board voted to deny a petition for waiver or variance request from the following individuals:
- Richard Burns, Atlanta: Rule 345-3-.02 Application for Licensure Post July 01, 2007
- Barbara B. Tolliver, Marietta: Rule 345-4-.05 Reinstatement of a License.
The Board voted to accept a cease and desist order from the following individual for unlicensed practice:
The Board voted to approve the following school as a Board Recognized Massage Therapy Educational Program:
- Georgia Massage School, Suwanee
The Board voted to post the following rules and rule amendments, upon the receipt of the Memo of Authority from the Assistant Attorney General, for the required 30 day minimum before considering adoption of the proposed rule amendments and additions.
- 45-4 License Renewal, Continuing Education, Inactive Status and Reinstatement of License: Changes Late Renewal period from 90 days to 30 days following the October 31, even years license expiration date; adds language that “Inactive Licensure Status” must be received in writing by the Board before midnight, October 31st of Even years; and clarifies language regarding the reinstatement of a license that has expired.
- 345-5 Licensure by Endorsement: Adds general licensure requirements to rule.
- 345-6 Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct: Outlines a code of conduct, ethics for all licensed massage therapists in Georgia.
- 345-8 Requirements – Board recognized Massage Therapy Education Program: Adds requirement that faculty members, if applicable, must have a current license to practice massage therapy in the state the program is located; restructures the exiting rule regarding “Additional Requirements” for recognition by the Board as a “recognized” massage therapy education program requiring programs maintain an acceptable pass rate of first time exam takers of 70% or above to remain as a recognized program by the Board, and sets disciplinary guidelines for programs failing to meet Board requirements of 345-8.
- 345-10 Discipline: Adds requirements for licensee’s to show their MT License Number on all advertisements with an effective date to do so of October 31, 2010, the next expiration date for active licenses; restructure the fine scale for unlicensed practice.
Upon receipt of the memo citing the Board’s authority to promulgate the rule amendments, the proposed amendments and changes will be posted for the public to view: http://sos.ga.gov/plb/massage.
The Georgia Board of Massage Therapy will hold its next meeting Friday, June 26, 2009 at 9:00 a.m. at the Professional Licensing Boards in Macon.