Actions Taken by the Georgia Board of Funeral Services at its February 9 Meeting
Macon, Ga.—The Georgia Board of Funeral Services met on Tuesday, February 9, 2010.
The Board voted to approve the following applicant for a funeral director and embalmer license:
- Michele Fiorelli, Springfield
The Board voted to approve an application for a name change for the following funeral establishment:
- Rollins Friendly Funeral Home, Inc., Cochran
The Board voted to approve the following requests for grace periods to replace the facilities’ funeral director in full and continuous charge:
- Knox Funeral Home, Atlanta
- Pope Dickson & Son, Jonesboro
The Board voted to approve the following courses for continuing education:
- 100% Education by McKissock:
- Ethics for Funeral Service Professionals
- Bloodborne Pathogens and Needle-stick Safety
- Funeral Practices Past and Present
- OSHA and The Funeral Director
- Professionalism for the Funeral Industry
- The FTC Funeral Rule
- Formaldehyde Monitoring and the OSHA Standard
- Crisis: The Role of Funeral Directors
- Marketing for the Funeral Director
- AIDS Education
- Balancing Your Life: Revitalizing Your Funeral Director Career
- Mortuary Law: Duties of the Funeral Director
- Georgia Eye Bank: Working with Funeral Directors
- Licensure and Inspection
- Grief Counseling
- Matthews International Casket Division:
- Certified Preplanning Consultant (CPC)
- CPC Correspondence
The Board approved the following orders to accept fine money for inspection violations:
- Alvie Coes Funeral Home, Unadilla: $100 for failure to maintain one operable motor hearse and/or combination hearse/ambulance with current Georgia registration for the transportation of casketed human remains at the establishment.
- Donald Trimble Mortuary, Atlanta: $50 for failure to equip all embalming rooms with a sink with drain opening and non porous sanitary cover into a sewerage or septic tank.
- Garrer Funeral Home, Louisville: $100 for failure to maintain a minimum of eight adult caskets within the display room on the premises of the establishment.
- Hicks & Sons Funeral Home, Reynolds: $50 for failure to contain in each embalming room 24 bottles arterial fluid and 24 bottles cavity fluid.
- Litman Funeral Home, Pearson: $600 for failure to equip all embalming rooms with hot and cold running water, a permanently installed back flow preventer for the hydro aspirator; failure to maintain one operable motor hearse and/or combination hearse/ambulance with current Georgia registration for the transportation of casketed human remains at the establishment; failure to conspicuously display a current biennial renewal license for the establishment, embalmer, funeral director and any apprentices.
- Williamson Mortuary, LLC, Riverdale: $650 for failure to equip all embalming rooms with non-absorbent sanitary floor and walls, to equip all embalming rooms with a sink with drain opening and non porous sanitary cover into a sewerage or septic tank and to have a card or brochure in each casket stating the price of the casket.
The Georgia Board of Funeral Services will hold its next meeting Tuesday, March 9, 2010 at 10:00 a.m. at the Professional Licensing Boards Division office in Macon.