Contact: Matt Carrothers
Director of Media Relations
Professionals with licensing inquiries should contact
the Professional Licensing Boards at 478-207-2440
Actions Taken by the Georgia State Board of Funeral Service at its September 9 Meeting
Macon, Ga.—The Georgia State Board of Funeral Service held its monthly meeting on Thursday, September 9, 2008.
The Board voted to accept a Consent Order for Reinstatement of the Funeral Establishment license for J W Jones Funeral Home in Columbus. The Consent Order terms included a $5,000 fine for the funeral establishment and 48 months probation. The Order also included a $2,500 fine and 48 months probation for the funeral director in full and continuous charge, John Lee Wright.
The Board voted to enter the Order Extending Time for Review in response to a request for agency review by William G. Johnston III, attorney for Miller Funeral Home in Griffin. The Board voted to extend the time to review until October 17, 2008.
The Board approved the following orders to accept fine monies for inspection violations and settling cases:
Hurt’s Mortuary in Milledgeville: Fines totaled $900. The mortuary was fined $200 for failure to have proper ventilation; $200 failure to maintain clean, sound, safe and acceptable repair condition; $200 for failure to maintain clean and sanitary instruments and tables; $200 for failure to ensure that caskets meet pricing information requirements; and $100 for failure to have an operable hearse.
Burnett Funeral Home, Wrens: Fined $50 for failure to have all outside ventilation openings screened.
The Georgia State Board of Funeral Service will hold its next meeting Tuesday, October 14, 2008 at 10:00 a.m. at the Professional Licensing Boards Division in Macon, Georgia.