Frequently Asked Questions
1. How can I contact the board?
237 Coliseum Drive
2. I am a registered dietitian. Do I need a license in Georgia to practice?
Yes. You cannot use just your registration to practice in Georgia. You must hold a valid license issued by the Georgia Board of Examiners of Licensed Dietitians in order to practice dietetics in Georgia.
3. I hold a current license to practice dietetics in another state and I am a registered dietitian. Can I practice under a registered dietitian or licensed dietitian until I receive my license?
It is a violation of state law to practice dietetics under a registered dietitian or licensed dietitian and may subject all parties involved to disciplinary action by the Board. You must hold a valid license issued by the Georgia Board of Examiners of Licensed Dietitians in order to practice dietetics in Georgia.
4. When will I get my license?
Once your application is complete and all the supporting documents have been received, your application file will be reviewed in the order in which it is received. If you are not eligible for a license at that time you will receive a letter indicating the status of your application. DO NOT practice dietetics in Georgia without a license issued by the board.
5. I hold a current license to practice dietetics in another state. Can I become licensed in Georgia?
Yes, you can become licensed by Endorsement if the state where you are currently licensed has licensure requirements that are substantially equal to or more stringent than Georgia requirements. You cannot use your out of state license to practice in Georgia. You must hold a valid license issued by the Georgia Board of Examiners of Licensed Dietitians in order to practice dietetics in Georgia.
6. What are the requirements for licensure?
a) You must be at least 18 years of age; and
b) You must hold a “baccalaureate or higher degree from a college or university accredited by any regionally accredited Association of Schools and Colleges or any regional accreditation agency with a major course of study in dietetics, human nutrition, food and nutrition, nutrition education, or food systems management; and
c) You must complete a supervised practice experience component in dietetic practice of not less than 900 hours as accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Dietetic Education (CADE); and
d) You must have successfully completed the CDR examination (www.cdrnet.org).
e) A Board approved supervised practice experience may be substituted for a CADE accredited supervised practice experience. Contact the Board for details and eligibility for a Board approved supervised practice experience.
7. What must I do to become licensed in Georgia?
a) If you are currently registered by the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR), you must submit:
b) If you are currently licensed in another state, you must submit:
c) If you have not taken the CDR examination, you must submit:
8. How can I find if I have been issued a license?
There are several ways to determine if you have been issued a license. First, the board office will mail you a copy of your license once you are approved. Second, the web-site has a database of all licensees, and you can search the database to see if you are licensed. Lastly, you can call the office at (478) 207-2440 and we will look at the database to see if you are licensed.
9. Can I receive a provisional license to practice dietetics in Georgia?
Yes, if you meet the following requirements:
10. Now that I have my provisional license, how do I receive a full license?
Once you submit documentation that you have passed the examination, a license will be issued within fifteen (15) working days. Documentation that you have passed the examination can be a letter from the Commission on Dietetic Registration or the walk-out “candidate score report” statement from the testing center.
11. How can I change my address?
Address changes may be submitted to the Board in writing, by fax (478-207-1633) or online at www.sos.state.ga.us/plb. Please include your license number and a telephone number in case there are any questions.
12. How can I change my name?
Please submit by mail or fax (478-207-1633) a copy of the marriage certificate, divorce decree or court order granting the legal name change. A copy of your driver’s license or social security card is not acceptable. Please include your license number and a current phone number.
If you desire a replacement pocket card showing the name change, you must submit your request in writing to the Board and include appropriate fee (currently $25 - see Fee Schedule for any changes). You should receive a new pocket card after fifteen (15) working days.
13. I lost my pocket card, how can I receive a duplicate?
Please write to the board and request a duplicate card. Include your name, address, phone number, license number and the appropriate fee (currently $25 - see Fee Schedule for any changes). You should receive a new pocket card after fifteen (15) working days.
14. Are there Continuing Education requirements for Licensed Dietitians?
Yes. The Georgia Board of Examiners of Licensed Dietitians requires all Licensed Dietitians to complete 30 total clock hours of continuing education prior to the expiration and renewal of your license. All licenses expire March 31 of even years. Please refer to Rule 156-5-.01(5) for further information.
15. How will continuing education for licensed dietitians be affected by the new Professional Development Portfolio process of the Commission on Dietetic Registration?
The timeframe and number of hours required for licensure in Georgia will remain the same and Licensed Dietitians can continue to use certain Continuing Professional Education activities for both licensure and CDR recertification. The major change that will occur with the Professional Development Portfolio is that CDR will no longer automatically send out yearly records of continuing education to all Registered Dietitians.
However, individual Licensed Dietitians can request a record of continuing education from CDR by completing a Verifications Worksheet and submitting it to CDR approximately 8 – 10 weeks before the report is needed. CDR will determine if the learning activity merits CPE units, print out a record of continuing education, and send it to the individual requesting the information. Licensed Dietitians could then use this record for verification of continuing education requirements if the Board audits them. Click here to view a comparison chart of acceptable CPE activities (available in Adobe Acrobat .pdf format).