How can I contact the board?
2) How do I
become a licensed practical nurse?
must graduate from a
practical nursing program approved by the Georgia Board of Examiners of
LPN’s, or, a nursing education program approved by another state
Board of Nursing whose course and content requirements are equal to or
greater than those required of approved Georgia programs.
must pass the NCLEX-PN examination. For more information on the
examination, please visit
If you do not pass the NCLEX-PN exam on your first attempt, there is a
forty-five (45) day waiting period before you may be authorized to sit
for the exam a subsequent time. Please refer to Board Rule 400-2-.05
Examination and Re-Examination. Amended.
must not be otherwise ineligible for licensure under the law.
3) I hold a
current license in another state.
Am I eligible for licensure in Georgia?
Yes. If the state
where you are currently licensed has licensure requirements that are
substantially equal to or greater than Georgia requirements and you are
not otherwise ineligible for licensure, you are eligible for licensure
You cannot use your out of state license to practice in Georgia. You
must hold a valid license issued by the Georgia Board of Examiners of
Licensed Practical Nurses in order to practice in Georgia.
4) How can I
become licensed in Georgia if I have a license in another state?
You must submit the
completed Application for Licensure by Endorsement, fee (money
order/personal check) and meet the following requirements:
18 years of age or older;
graduated from high school or received a General Education Diploma or a
completed/graduated a board approved practical nursing program or Army
68WM6 (previously 91C or 91WM6 program);
successfully passed the NCLEX-PN;
submitted verification of license of current state of licensure;
submitted verification of license in original state of licensure;
submitted verification of employment as an LPN within 5 years
immediately preceding the date of your application;
refer to Board Rule 400-2-.04 Interstate Endorsement Licensure for more
5) What if I did
not graduate from an approved practical nursing program,
am I eligible
for licensure in Georgia?
No. If you
did graduate from a nursing program, your nursing
education program must be substantially equal to or greater than the
program requirements of the approved Georgia practical nursing programs,
and, you must meet all other requirements for licensure.
6) When will I
receive my license?
application is complete, and all of the supporting documents have been
received, your application file will be reviewed by an application
specialist. You will then receive a license if you meet the
requirements. If you are not eligible for a license, you will receive a
letter indicating the status of your application.
7) How will I
know if I have been issued a license?
There are several
ways to determine if you have been issued a license. First, the board
office will mail you a “pocket card” of your license once it has been
issued. Second, this site has a
database of all licensees and you can search the database to see if
you are, in fact, licensed. Lastly, you may call the office and we will
search the database for you to determine if you are licensed.
8) Can I receive
a provisional or temporary license to practice in Georgia?
No. The Georgia
Board of LPN does not issue temporary licenses.
9) How can I
change my address?
Address changes may
be updated on line at
www.sos.state.ga.us/plb, or, submitted in writing (addressed to the
Ga. LPN Board) by US Mail or by fax (478-207-1633 Fax). Please include
your license number and a telephone number in case there are any
10) How can I
change my name?
Please submit a
copy of your marriage certificate, divorce decree or court order. A
copy of your driver’s license or social security card is not
acceptable. Please include your license number and the appropriate
fee. You should receive a new pocket card after fifteen (15) working
11) I lost my
pocket card, how can I receive a duplicate?
Submit a written
request to the board for a duplicate card. Include your name, address,
license number and the appropriate fee of $25.00 (payable to the Ga. LPN
12) Once I am
licensed, do I have to participate in Continuing Education?
No. The Georgia
Board of LPN does not require continuing education.
13) What can I
do as a LPN?
The board does not
have a list of approved activities for Licensed Practical Nurses. You
are encouraged to review the legal definition of practical nursing under
the Official Code of Georgia Annotated Section
43-26-32(7) and the curriculum requirements for practical nursing
programs under Rule
14) Does my
nursing licenses expire March 31 of odd years. You may renew on-line at:
www.sos.state.ga.us/plb, or call the Board offices at (478) 207-2440
and request a mail-in renewal application be sent to you by US Mail.