Important news for recently discharged veterans
The Georgia General Assembly created the State Licensing Board for Residential and General Contractors in 2004 to regulate individuals engaged in construction contracting. Applicants for licensure must pass a two-part examination covering the license they are attempting to obtain, and business and law. The Board has the authority to adopt rules, set standards for licensure, adopt mandatory standards of professional conduct, and investigate and discipline unauthorized, negligent or incompetent practice.
The Board is comprised 15 members representing the industry and consumers. Eight serve on the Residential Division and seven on the General Division.
Board meetings are open to the public and are generally held at the Office of Secretary of State, Professional Licensing Boards Division office located at 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, Georgia. Meeting dates, time and location are posted on this website. Persons wishing to submit complaints or other matters for Board consideration should submit the matter in writing to the office.
IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT - POSTED APRIL 28, 2011
BOARD PROPOSES AMENDMENTS TO CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR RESIDENTIAL-BASIC AND RESIDENTIAL-LIGHT CONTRACTORS
Online Applications are now available for Residential Basic Individual and Qualifying Agent License types only! Do not apply online unless applying for this specific license type.
All other License Types should use the traditional paper application process located here. Please Check back as more license types become available for online applications.
You may now apply on-line for these license types by examination: Residential Basic Individual and Residential Basic Qualifying Agent. You may apply online by going to the following link:https://secure.sos.state.ga.us/mylicense/Login.aspx?process=app. On this site, you may submit your application and pay your application fee using a Visa, Mastercard, or American Express credit or debit card. Application fees are non-refundable.
||The General Division has established reciprocity with Louisiana and Tennessee as an available method by which to obtain licensure. The General Division is working to establish reciprocity with other states as well. Please check our website for updates regarding this. Reciprocity is not available for Residential Basic or Residential-Light Commercial.
IMPORTANT NOTICE – RENEWAL INFORMATION: The State Licensing Board for Residential and General Contractors has set the fees for the June 30, 2012 renewals as follows:
- Renewal Fee - $100.00
- Late Renewal Fee - $200.00 (July 1, 2012 to December 31, 2012)
Please remember it is illegal to work as a Residential or General Contractor with an expired license.
Continuing education credits are being required for renewal for residential basic and residential-light commercial contractors. Residential basic contractors must have 3 hours of continuing education and residential-light commercial contractors must have 6 hours of continuing education. Please refer to Board Rule 553-12-.03 Programs Which Qualify. Continuing education is not required for General or General Limited Tiercontractors.
Please ensure that we have your current email address on record so that you may receive your renewal notification. If you are unable to receive email notifications, a renewal reminder postcard will be mailed out approximately 90 days prior to the expiration date of June 30, 2012.
Renewals will be processed online. If you do not have access for online processing, you must contact the Board office at 478-207-2440 to request a paper renewal form.