Voter Registration Drive | Frequently Asked Questions
Questions and Answers:
Who can register to vote in the state of Georgia?
To register to vote you must be:
- A citizen of the United States.
- A legal resident of Georgia and of the county in which you wish to vote.
- At least 17 1/2 years of age to register and 18 to vote.
You may NOT register to vote if you are currently:
- Serving any sentence imposed by the conviction of a felony.
- Judicially determined to be mentally incompetent.
Do I have to register by political party in Georgia?
No, Georgia does not register voters by political party.
Do I have to re-register if I move?
Yes. Voters are required to notify the Board of Registrar's office of their county of residence whenever they move. If you move within 30 days of an election, you may vote in your old precinct for that election.
When is the latest I can register for the next election?
You must register no later than the 5th Monday prior to the next election. Mail-in applications must be postmarked by this deadline.
Do I have to re-register for each election?
No, you only need to register once. If you have not voted in three years, please contact your county Board of Registrar's office.
Where do I vote?
After your county receives your voter registration form, you will receive a precinct card in the mail which will state the location of your polling place and your local, state, and federal districts. If you do not receive your precinct card within 30 days, contact the Board of Registrar's office in your county or check the Secretary of State MVP at: http://sos.georgia.gov/mvp